Rachel’s Story. Rising Again

Trigger Warning.  Dislocations. Mental wellbeing.  Chronic illness

Rachel’s Story. Rising Again

My body is my prison.
A prison that dislocates,breaks, and makes me frown.
I used to dance and be free,
But things quickly turned upside down.

I fight to stay strong.
Using the ability part of my disabilities.
I partake in my own way.
My chair is a way to live,
Get around day to day.

Still, there are days I struggle.
Facing another painful risk.
There’s little help or resolve.
Fighting on just to exist.

Today, it took my voice.
My jaw locked into place.
My words aching to escape.
Trapped within,
How much more can I take?

I am told it may be forever.
It might just be another part of me.
It makes my heart sink,
Thinking my words won’t ever be free.

Still, I get up every day,
Feeling battle scarred,
Bruised and sore.
I hold my head high.
Because no matter what,
I’m ready to soar.

By Katie Haigh
©️K.Haigh January 2023

Rachel Cracknell

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment