Napowrimo 2024. Day 29. Earworm.

Napowrimo 2024. Day 29.

And now for our optional prompt. If you’ve been paying attention to pop-music news over the past couple of weeks, you may know that Taylor Swift has released a new double album titled “The Tortured Poets Department”” In recognition of this occasion, Merriam-Webster put together a list of ten words from Taylor Swift songs. We hope you don’t find this too torturous yourself, but we’d like to challenge you to select one of these words and write a poem that uses the word as its title.

Earworm

I’ve got this song stuck in my head.
The words go around and around.
Even when I’m trying to sleep in my bed,
I still hear its constant sound.

In my mind, the music will play.
I keep hearing that same tune.
No matter what I do, it’s there every day.
Making me feel like a loon.

So, I decided to embrace it.
Listen on repeat.
Chill out and sit,
Into my brain let it seep.

Because tomorrow they’ll be a new earworm,
It’s words in my head.
Will it be a good song’s turn?
Or some cheesy jingle I dread.

By Katie Haigh
©️K.Haigh 29/04/24


Photo by BBC News

Leave a comment