Napowrimo 2024. Day 14. Expensive Words

Napowrimo 2024. Day 14.

Today’s (optional) prompt asks you to write a poem of at least ten lines in which each line begins with the same word (e.g., “Because,” “Forget,” “Not,” “If”). This technique of beginning multiple lines with the same word or phrase is called anaphora, and has long been used to give poems a driving rhythm and/or a sense of puzzlebox mystery.

Expensive Words

Just because someone  called me ulgy,
I’ve believed it ever since.
Just because someone said I was stupid,
I’ve never been clever.
Just because I’m not society’s definition of beauty,
I know I am not pretty.
Just because someone in my past physically hurt me,
I feel like I am weak.
Just because I’ve experienced trauma,
Doesn’t mean my scars are visible.
Just because someone tells me I’m talented,
Doesn’t mean I am.
Just because it’s said or written,
Doesn’t make it true.
Just because our words are powerful,
We should be careful what words we use.

By Katie Haigh
©️K.Haigh 14th April 2024

Painting by Katie Haigh ©️K.Haigh

Leave a comment